Paid Sick Leave in Florida 2018
The state of Florida does not employ the use of any laws that explicitly give employees the right to take paid sick leave. Unlike many other states that have made it an obligation of employers to give their employees days for which they can be absent citing personal health reasons and not face any reduction in their payment, benefits, or rewards.
Employees can, however, take sick leave under the FMLA or the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act.
How long is Paid Sick Leave in Florida Available?
Under the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act, employees can take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave each year to recover from their own health complications or cater to the ill health of a family member.
A family member can be defined as a spouse, a foster or natural child, a parent, a grandparent, a grandchild, a sibling, or any relation that directly depends on you for their caretaking and basic provisions of life.
If a family member has suffered serious health consequences as a result of serving in the army, the individual is entitled to get 26 weeks off to care for them. Individuals who have suffered domestic violence or abuse are also entitled to leave under this act for at least three months. The leave will, however, be unpaid.
Eligibility of Paid Sick Leave in Florida
The FMLA applies to companies that hire 50 or more employees. Employees have to have worked for the employer for at least 12 months and a total of 1250 hours in that time period in order to qualify to apply for the medical leave.
How to Apply for Paid Sick Leave in Florida?
The employee should get in touch with the Human Resource Department in their organization to discuss their situation or take the matter directly to the employer and request a leave under the FMLA.
The employee is advised to inform the employer as early as possible about their intention to take the leave in situations where it is possible.
=> You may like to read: Paid Maternity Leave Florida 2018
Any Specific rule apply for Paid Sick Leave in Florida
If the employee has been absent for 3 or more days in a 30 day or a month-long period, the employer has the right to demand a medical verification that justifies the absenteeism for record keeping and clarification purposes.
If the employee has been absent for 10 consecutive days, the employer can ask the employee to show up with a medical verification from the attending physician before he or she can continue taking sick leave.