The subject of paid sick leave has long since been an issue in the state of Texas and still is a subject of concern and discussion, with the state government not having introduced a law that would make giving paid sick leave hours to employees mandatory for all employers in the jurisdiction.
Austin is the first and only city in the state that has passed the law and made it part of their official legislation for employers to grant paid sick leave to all employees.
How long is Paid Sick Leave in Texas Available?
Businesses and companies with 15 or fewer employees are obliged to give up to 48 hours of total paid sick leave, whereas businesses with more than 15 employees are going to have to give up to 64 hours of paid sick leave.
In the year 2020, micro companies having less than five employees will also be obliged to give their employees paid sick leave. Employees get paid sick leave hours at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked.
Eligibility for Paid Sick Leave in Texas?
All employees are eligible to apply for paid sick leave if their employer grants them this employee benefit or if they work in Austin, including full time, part time, seasonal, and temporary workers.
How to Apply for Paid Sick Leave in Texas?
The employer is in their right to ask for prior notification by the employee before they plan on taking the leave, if and as soon as possible. They can also ask the employee to turn up with some form of documentation so as to confirm their reason for absence and compile records.
The employer is not entitled to details of the situation, especially if it pertains to domestic abuse or violence.
=> You may like to read: Paid Maternity Leave Texas 2018
Any Specific rule apply for paid sick leave in Texas
Private companies in Texas are not obliged by state law to offer paid sick leave to its employees. However, if the employer chooses to give their employees paid sick leave as an added employee benefit, they are in their right to do so.
Employers have the choice to opt for either an accrual system for the paid sick leave hours or a front loading system where they give the maximum accrued leave time up front at the beginning of the calendar year.
State employees can also use their accrued sick leave hours to attend and cater to the educational activities of their children if they are parents to students of grades K to 12.
These activities include school-sponsored conferences, volunteering events, field trips, and meetings.